Fun with Google books

 

I know there are lots of debates about what Google is doing when it scans tons of books (many from libraries) and makes them available (at least partially) online. I must say though, that I love being able to look at books written in the 1800s and early 1900s online.

I have an interest in pen and ink drawing. I have been able to do an advanced Google books search and limit my search to only full text (or only public domain) and limit it to books (rather than magazines) and low and behold, wonderful books on architectural drawing from the 1800s and early 1900s. These are great resources. I also came across a book that helped teachers teach children (elementary school age) to write with a pen. Keep in mind these were dip pens. The book went in to a great deal of detail on how to instruct kids to dip the nib only as far as the “window” in the nib etc.

I encourage everyone to go and explore some of the hidden treasures from the 19th century that we can now access on our 21st century computers.

