Tears of the Giraffe, Morality for Beautiful Girls, et. al.


I have been continuing to read The no. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith. I will not continue to summarize them individually but will just mention again what a wonderful series it is. Pick up one and read it, and then if you also enjoyed it you will find yourself going back and finding the beginning one and reading through the whole series. Enjoy them for they are wonderful pieces of work.


The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency

by Alexander McCall Smith


Smith, A. M. (2005). The no. 1 ladies’ detective agency. New York: Pantheon.

This is Smith’s first in the series by the same title. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency takes place in Botswana and features the excellent Mma Precious Ramotswe. She inherits money from the sale of her father’s cattle when he is dying and he encourages her to open a business for herself. He was thinking more along the lines of a butchers or bottle store, but Mma Ramotswe opens up the first detective agency run by a woman in Botswana. She is quite successful since she uses her natural intelligence and understanding of how people work to solve the cases brought to her.

She uncovers a long lost daddy who is not really the daddy, confirms the reason for the disappearance of a husband, returns a stolen car, finds a lost boy, and solves many other cases in this first book. We also get a bit of background on Mma Ramotswe’s life and her own family.

I actually read Tea Time for the Traditionally Built first and then went back to read this book. This series is wonderful because you can read the books out of order and still enjoy them and not feel you are missing lots of important information. Again, this is a wonderful series that is perfect for summer reading.

Tea Time for the Traditionally Built

by Alexander McCall Smith


Smith, A. M. (2009). Tea time for the traditionally built. New York: Pantheon.


This is the latest in the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series. I must confess that it is the first I have read although this author and this series have been on my “to read” list for years. I am glad I finally got around to it and will be going back and reading the earlier ones as soon as I can procure them.

The action takes place in Botswana with Mma Precious Ramotswe running the detective agency and narrating the story. She has an assistant, Mma Makutsi who helps with the agency and in this story has some problems of her own. Mma Makutsi is engaged to a well off furniture store owner, Phuti Radiphuti, but a rival, Violet Sephotho, is trying to steal him away.

Meanwhile, Mma Ramotswe gets a large case, as Rra Molofololo, owner of the local football team (soccer to Americans) the Kalahari Swoops, engages her to find out why the team is suddenly losing games. The answer is simple yet one easily overlooked by a busy, self important owner.

In the end the cases have a happy solution (I’m not going to spoil if for you—read the book), but Mma Ramotswe does lose her old small white van (we’ll have to see if she is able to get it back).

A wonderful series, quick and easy for busy folks and folks who want some relaxing reading. If you haven’t already, read one of the books in the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series. They are stand alone books so you can pick up any one, but having read the latest I am going to try to read the beginning ones.